Fixing up a vintage Peugeot bicycle

I noticed the bicycle almost as soon as I arrived at the little house in the Haute Pyrenees. It was found in a friend’s garden and dropped off in ours. It lived outdoors, was tired, rusty and looked worse for wear.

Fixingvintagepeugeotbicycle (6)

But, when I saw it I saw a beautiful upright vintage Peugeot bicycle. I took a closer look and saw what needed to be fixed so that it would be ride-able.

A sketchy plan

A sketchy plan

Both tyre tubes needed to be replaced and the back wheel needed to be fixed or replaced. The chain and brakes needed some oil and the dynamo light could probably be fixed by stripping the wire a bit and connecting it again with electrical tape.

Analysis completed, I took a day or two to actually get around to the bicycle my full attention. Then, today was the day. It was a “cold” (cold by South African standards, but not at all by Oulu standards) rainy day and some inside fun needed to be had.

I set about taking off the wheels and changing the tyre tubes. The front wheel was easy but the back wheel required more, um, expertise rather than the neanderthalic bashing with a pair of pliers that I was giving it. Fortunately, my step father heard my cries (actually bashes) for help and showed me how it was done.

The rest of the day featured bits of bike fixing and bits of holiday relaxing. The gash in the tire was fixed with the help on a milk bottle (it’s a long story) and by that old bicycle fixing friend- duct tape. Due to some planning errors I had to put on and take off the tyre and tube three times which was frustrating but it was good practice for changing bicycle tubes.

And ta-daa… by the end of the day, I was very happy to have a beautiful working vintage bicycle.

A working bicycle. Woopa!

A working bicycle. Woopa!

Now, to find a basket for the front and a way to get it to Cape Town. Hmmm?

Off I go...

Off I go…

 

Postscript: 

I thought I would have a look at what the wonderful world wide web had to share about these bicycles. I found a fascinating underworld of Peugeot bicycle droolers. From the vintage here and here to the very now here. Turns out these bikes have caused quite a stir.

That said, I could not find my particular Peugeot bike, other than this model I found in these 1950s Barbie and Ken style adverts.

Image

Image

So, if you know what bike I have found and fixed up, help me out and let me know.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Fixing up a vintage Peugeot bicycle

  1. Bonne fixing de la velo. Michel and Sylvie were most impressed when we showed them today. When you have a spare moment lying in the snow on a Spanish beach, please write another blog in French for them. Bonne voyage, Coline

  2. Scott says:

    Great project well done…I am in the middle of one myself but I am in Paris so finding parts is much easier! Your bike can be seen in a 1974 French catalogue. I would say it is a PL45.

Leave a Reply

