Overcoming hat hair in Oulu

In Oulu, I wore a hat outdoors from about the end of September until mid April. Seven months of wearing a hat in a very dry and cold environment teaches you a thing or two about overcoming the hassle of hat hair and, I thought I would share them (and my little drawings) here.

First of all: what is hat hair?

flat on the top, wild at the ends and fuzzy all over

flat on the top, wild at the ends and fuzzy all over

Hat hair is what happens to your hair after it has been under a hat too long. Hair becomes flat on the top and sticks out at the ends. Hairspray does not help. The hat normally forms a slight kink in your hair just where the hat ends which can make you look like something Tim Burton had a nightmare about once. And then, to add insult to injury, it is very very dry which makes everyone’s hair do all sorts of crazy. For mine, the dryness makes it static and taking a hat off and on only makes that effect stronger. Oh Joy. It aaaaaaalmost doesn’t matter what type of hair you have… If you are wearing a hat on top of it, it’s gonna do something bad. Something that will make you want to keep your hat on indoors.

Which leads us straight on to option one for how to overcome hat hair:

#1 Keep your hat on.

you can leave your hat on

you can leave your hat on

This is a fine idea if the place you are going to is a bit chilly but chances are, as soon as you go inside anywhere in Finland in autumn, winter or spring, it’s going to be heated and you will quickly overheat if you (in the words of Joe Cocker) leave your hat on.

#2 Wear a scarf over your head

two scarves. one warm lady

two scarves. one warm lady

A view from the back with another wrap your head in a scarf option

A view from the back with another wrap your head in a scarf option

 

Silk scarves are great for keeping your body heat in and the cold weather out. I don’t know how silk does it, maybe, it is magic.

#3 Put all your hair to one side

most of your hair to one side

most of your hair to one side

Wear your hair loose and pull it all to one side and put your hat on. The hat holds the hair to the side and you look a bit fabulous which is nice.

#4 Plait or pony to the side

plait to the side

plait to the side

 

pony to the side

pony to the side

 

A variation on #3 just with a bit more certainty. Also, then when you get to wherever you are going, voila, you have a messy side plait or pony which pinterest tells me is very cool.

#5 Headbands

sporty headband option

sporty headband option

You can get all sorts of headbands from the more thin and sporty to the more fluffy and fun. Either way, the idea is the same… Cover the ears and do something with you hair that will survive a tight headband being put on and taken off.

#6 Get dreadlocks

dreadlocks

dreadlocks

Dreadlocks (that are kept in good condition) don’t seems to suffer from hat hair. Maybe they keep one a bit warmer too.

#7 Earmuffs

earmuffs

earmuffs

Nuff said

#8 Hood

wear a hood

wear a hood

When I asked my Finnish friend what she did to overcome hat hair as a teenager, she said that they just did not wear anything on their heads, even when it was minus 30C. I have seen this in Oulu often (especially with the young and foolish). Sometimes girls will wear the  hood of their jackets up s that it stands out from their head. It covers their head but does not scrunch their hair. And it does actually keep you warm… I tried it once.

So, all in all, there seems to be no valid reason left to have bad hat hair, ever…

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Overcoming hat hair in Oulu

  1. Annie says:

    Hi there! I just stumbled upon your blog. I was recently accepted to Turku University’s Learning, Learning Environments and Educational Systems program and I’m trying to make up my mind if I should study in Finland, or study at a university here in the US where I’ve also been accepted. If you would be willing to share how you think your graduate program is preparing you, I’d love to hear.

    • Bee says:

      Hi Annie, Wow, so many great decisions. I think what I have got from my time studying in Finland is the chance to meet many people from all over the world and the adventure of being very far away from everything that was familiar to me. That had its challenges. I see from your blog that this would not be the first time you lived away from home, but Finland is a bit different… not as friendly as warm Southern places. That said, I feel like my character has grown. Finland (and EVEN it’s famous education system) are not perfect but I am grateful for this opportunity I was given to study here.

Leave a Reply

