An afternoon at the beach in Oulu

It was a beautiful sunny day so we decided to bike to the beach. I have spent much of my life on a beach and I have never had a beach day quite like this one. We walked on the frozen sea, saw people ice fishing, cross country skiing and going for rides on skidoos. There was also the opportunity to go for a little circuit in a reindeer or husky sleigh. There was a little snow castle and maze with tunnels (that I could hardly look at because the claustrophobia was too much for me). It was lots of snowy fun and I am sure I will never have another beach day like it again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The beach of Oulu called Nallikari and forms part of the Bay of Bothnia.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “An afternoon at the beach in Oulu

  1. […] Northern Lights, ice hole swimming, the midnight sun and the midday sunset , seeing huskies at the beach… to name but  […]

Leave a Reply

