My classmates’ breakfasts

Over a canteen lunch with my classmates I looked around and wondered what they ate when they didn’t have only three options. What did this group of people from all over the world eat for breakfast here in Oulu?  So, I asked them and they sent me pictures of breakfast and a little write up about it to share here 🙂

Chinese

IMG_4847

IMG_4690

“I have to admit that I don’t eat this very often, cos it takes like an hour to cook them. Neither are they typical Chinese breakfast. Mostly, we eat the little white ball on Lantern Festival which is today, and for the yellow one which is a pumpkin porridge, we eat that more often, and could be for any meal in the day. ”

Mexican

862606_10152606641500486_1890631851_n

861607_10152606641505486_1858277625_n

“The kind of breakfast that I have at home is pretty international so I have no problems when I’m overseas. The meal that changes significantly is lunch. Anyway… here is a photo of scrambled eggs with sausage, toast and tea. The other is of french toast and hot chocolate.”

Palastinien

730552_10152584497970094_821548258_n

“Here is the picture of my breakfast. Usually it’s cookies and chocolates with Nescafe, but since my mum sent me these semolina and dates cookies so I am having them. I never have breakfast, I wake up and immediately go boil water, do my Nescafe or Arabic coffee with anything sweet…[they] make me wake up and be in a good mood.”

Brazilian

brazilian's breakfast

Picture: coffee, Finnish cheese, low-fat plain yogurt with honey and cereals.

“I have breakfast even if I wake up and it’s already afternoon, it’s a meal that I don’t skip. It varies a bit but coffee it’s always part of it. It was the same back home: breakfast everyday. And coffee everyday.

The main differences: In Oulu I never have fruit for breakfast. I often have yogurt. When I don’t have yogurt, I usually have some bread. In Brazil, I never have yogurt for breakfast. But I have bread everyday there.

Reasons? Well, I don’t feel like eating fruit when it’s cold. And fruit here can be quite disappointing also. Yogurt is not so cheap in Brazil. And I don’t love it. There is just one kind that I really like and they have it here – and it’s really good and cheap.

In Brazil, when I lived in the South (= mild weather), I wouldn’t have much fruit too. As I said, it’s about the weather. But it’s also about “home”. When I lived in the North (= with my parents AND really warm weather) I would have fruit everyday for breakfast. Watermelon, mango, melon, papaya… every single day.

It’s a “family” thing for me… breakfast there wasn’t a fast meal, my dad would put many things on the table everyday: bread, cheese, ham, milk, coffee, cake, cookies… and fruit, always. My parents are crazy about fruit, we always had HUGE amounts of different fruit at home. I remember when we were children (I have a brother and a sister), we would have freshly squeezed juice everyday, twice a day at least. And no soda on weekdays, so it was a lot of juice. My mom would buy one hundred oranges every week. And other fruit, of course. Nowadays they don’t buy that crazy amount of fruit, but I spent a few years with them before coming to Finland and, yep, they still buy a lot of fruit. I miss that, so nice.

In Oulu I have breakfast by myself. And it’s cold, it doesn’t encourage me. It’s some kind of homesick laziness. Or a lazy loneliness. Or maybe I’m just lazy, I don’t know. So… no fruit for breakfast.

Russian

318157_10151418200079500_672713161_n

Namibian

20130220_121313 (1)

I don’t particularly religiously follow a breakfast regime. I have breakfast like every other day, usually depending on how early my classes are or whether I’m working from home or not.

My favourite breakfast involves muesli or any dried fruit with yogurt  that’s it. And it’s pretty much the same way I have breakfast back home, unless I’m visiting the village, in which case it’s just coffee and bread. I love adding pieces of fruit, like in the image sent it’s bananas. Can also be strawberries, apple or pineapple.

Brazilian (another great lady)

IMG_4945

When I was living in Oulu, I used to have the same kind of breakfast I had in Brazil:  toasted bread with melted cheese, black coffee and some kind of fruit.  Today’s choice was grapes.  In Brazil it is very common to have papaya, bananas, or melons.  Every once in a while I tried to include omelette or a piece of cake.

American

photo (2)

Photo: bacon, eggs (cooked over-easy), spinach and black beans.

“When I’m in the USA I usually don’t eat breakfast. If I do it is usually something quick, like a pop tart or cold cereal. Here I am trying to eat healthier but this is still a typical American breakfast, except for the beans. Beans aren’t considered breakfast food in the USA. I probably wouldn’t usually eat spinach for breakfast either but I’m currently doing a slow carb diet.”

Japanese

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Coffee + 2 kinds of fresh fruits is basic for my morning wherever I am – Stockholm, Tokyo, Oulu or Berlin.

Leave a Reply

