“What would you do if you won a million dollars?”

“What would you do if you won a million dollars?” was a game we used to play as school girls. Living in South Africa, we had no real concept of how much even one dollar would get us. It was more about the idea of an infinite amount of money.

Nowadays if someone asked me that I might ask some critical questions like: Am I being taxed on that amount? Which dollars… American, Zimbabwean, Hong Kong?  How did I win it? Did I spend 2 million dollars “winning” it? Do I have home loans or study debts to pay off? What’s the catch?

But once, a few years ago, a friend rekindled this childhood game and asked me “What would you do if you won a million dollars?” We were both administrators at the time, earning a livable but not extravagant wage. I said the first thing that came to mind: Go back to university, study and travel FOREVER. She said start a business.

I remembered this conversation the other day while brushing my teeth. In fact, I stopped brushing my teeth when I realised: Standing here in Finland, doing a Master’s and getting regular opportunities to travel in Europe, I am now living my “million dollar” dream without having ever actually won a million dollars.

I’m not big on dreaming and hoping and setting goals (life feels too restless for that) but maybe there is something to be said for asking yourself that question and perhaps opening the door to hoping.

P.S. that friend who asked me, she now has her own little craft business (among other things) that she loves.

Leave a Reply

