Hyvää ystävänpäivää! (Happy Finnish Valentine’s Day)

14 February has a double identity in Finland. It is all the hearts and chocolates and roses and red fluffiness of the celebration of romantic love, as well as a celebration of friendship. I’m not to sure where this tradition came from but I like it. It is a way for the (generally) quiet, reserved and personal space people of Finland to hug and appreciate one another. I hear that traditionally friends give each other Hyvää Ystävänpäivää! (Happy Friendship Day) postcards. I found some awesome vintage postcards at the post office the other day. I’m going to go back tomorrow to see if they are selling them cheaper and buy a few – maybe to give away but probably to keep because they are gorgeous designs.

Being international students, we kinda missed out on that one (giving each other cards… or maybe it as just me), but anyways when I came home from university there were a dozen beautiful roses waiting for me (YAY), sent to me by my dearest love (no, not my mom, my boyfriend). I sent him a metal music magazine #oppositesattract.

IMG09254-20130214-1512

Going back to friendship, I went to the shops the other day and found this amazing set of magnet friends and accessories. This is going to be yet another awesome distraction from writing my thesis.

out of the packaging

DSCF5730

“Ella, thanks for being sucha great Ystava! I think your glasses are really cooland I love the stories that you tell me. Sorry my dog doesn’t really like you.” said Aleksi. Just then, the flying bird swooped low and pooped on Alksi’s fancy pirate hat.

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hyvää ystävänpäivää! (Happy Finnish Valentine’s Day)

  1. Tessa-Jean says:

    Ah I like it 🙂 Did you get any postcards? One for meeee pretty please 🙂

    • Bee says:

      oh deary. I went to buy all their stock and they had already sent them off to the big post office in the sky 😦 but I saw they have really beautiful vintage Easter cards… so, try try, try again.

Leave a Reply

