Advent Calendar

I’m not sure if I ever had an Advent Calendar growing up. If I did, I probably opened up all the little doors and ate all the little chocolates in one go. This year I decided I was finally mature enough to get myself an Advent Calendar. That I would be able to only open one little door  and eat one little chocolate a day. Here, in Oulu, they seem to be big news. When I visited a preschool and the kids were asked who had advent calendars most, if not all, of the kids (and I) put up our hands to indicate we had them at home. I don’t know if it has always been like that or if this is one of those recently imported traditions.

Normally, the calendar is first opened on  1 December but as I am leaving Oulu a bit before Christmas for my Winter holiday, I did the maths and found out that TODAY is the day that I should start to open the little doors. YAY!

Moomin Advent Calendar

 

Opened door with the chocolate inside

 

Little angel embossed (good quality milk) chocolate

 

Behind the chocolate is a picture. I don’t know why.. I don’t really need any further incentive to get the chocolate out.

PS If you are wondering what this odd white creature is on the Advent Calendar, here’s the wiki article on that: Moomin

4 thoughts on “Advent Calendar

  1. It’s starting to feel like Christmas! What a cute advent calendar! Love Moomin! 🙂

  2. […] a previous post about my advent calendar I hinted at the love that Finland has for Muumi (Moomi in English), a strange collection […]

Leave a Reply

