Thoughts on my birthday

Today is my birthday and marks the anniversary of the beginning of my latest and greatest adventure.

I suppose life is always changing and it is often a collection of little moments that you forget about that lead eventually to big changes. But, today, a year ago, was one of those big moments that led to a big change. I was out dancing with my friends at a retro inspired club in Cape Town to end off my birthday celebrations. Normally the tambourine hitting, wide-brimmed hat wearing dj only plays songs from the 60s, 70s and 80s but for whatever reason, this time he played Sheryl Crow’s “A change would do you good”

It’s not my favourite song or even on my top 1000 cool songs to listen to. Added to that, this music video is very odd in a not cool way.. what is she wearing??? Anyways, the words of the chorus just stuck in my head… a change would do you good. “Ok,” I said to myself, “I need a change.” I lent over to a friend and shouted in his ear above the dance music  “I’m moving to Durban” (Durban is another city in South Africa). To which he (wisely) said, “Let’s talk about this later”. We didn’t talk about it later or ever but that moment lit something in my heart that had been dormant for a while… a sense of adventure, of being braver and of taking greater risks. Barely two months later  I applied for a scholarship to come to Oulu. The very next day after applying, I heard that I got it. (I like to say I won it but really, I was the only one who applied… in other words… I won the race, but I was the only one racing).

And coming to Oulu meant a whole bunch of adventures for me in and beyond Oulu. This last year has been one hang of a ride. I’m so grateful that I got to do it and  for friends (new and old) and precious family who have supported me, been patient with me and loved me through all this craziness. And for those who haven’t…as we say in South Africa: Ja well no fine.

So the moral of the story is: If you want to change your life, dance to bad music.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on my birthday

  1. nliszkay14 says:

    mmm I need to find me a bad tune now 🙂 you have inspired me!

  2. eliseblalock says:

    Cheers to you for seeking and embracing change!

  3. Nick says:

    You’re a hang of a lot braver than I am Bee…inspirational though.

Leave a Reply

