What to do with daylight

It is light all the time here.

When I say “all the time” I’m not even being a drama queen about it. It is literally light all the time. It gets twilighty (in the pre-Stephenie Meyer sense of the word) but never actually dark. It goes from inky milk to dawn. It’s very weird for me coming from where I do and thinking if it’s still light at 21:30, that’s late.

As an accomplished midday napper, I thought this wouldn’t be problem. Unfortunately this eerily midnight lightness seems to have brought out the insomniac in me. Turns out falling asleep is more than just closing your eyes… there’s something about it getting darker that your brain realises, AH! time to get sleepy. I once watched a movie about this. It’s one of those physiological thriller movies that has such a clever twisty plot, you know that the original idea was not by an American movie house. It’s called “Insomnia” and it’s about two LA cops who investigate a murder in Alaska in summer. The one cop can’t sleep because of person issues and because it’s always light an all sorts of strange things start happening. So, the midnight sun can make you a little loopy (I have proof from a movie). It stars Hilary Swank, Al Pacino and Robbin Williams (stellar cast, hey?) And guess what I found out: it is actually the remake of a NORWEGIAN film by the same name, same plot.

What do we do with all this extra daylight… people are playing tennis, going for runs, walking dogs, biking around, roller blading around (roller blading made a big come back a few years ago) everything people normally do in the daylight. The weird part is that its 10pm and they are doing it like its 5pm. For me, it feels like I’m way more productive, like there are just more hours in the day: essays get done, blogs get done, barbeques get done, tidying my room still does not get done but maybe if I stay here long enough… something will happen in that department too. You never know.

I’ve taken a few pictures at crazy-o’clocks and you can see how light it is….

20:30

20:30

21:45

21:45

22:28

22:28

23:30

23:30

00:26

00:26

It’s really weird to leave a party at 3:15 and it’s light, birds are singing and it’s just moments before dawn. Makes you feel like you’ve been out all night.

03:14

03:14

Leave a Reply

